Weather: Sydney 10°C - 21°C . Sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Bendigo
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after the city which is its main centre.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Bendigo is situated on the northern foothills of the Great Dividing Range in North Central Victoria. It covers an area of approximately 6255 sq km and provides the southern gateway to the Murray Darling Basin. In addition to the city of Bendigo, other large population centres in the division include Castlemaine, Heathcote, Kyneton and Woodend. Bendigo shares boundaries with the divisions of Murray to the north, Wannon to the west, Ballarat to the south and McEwen to the east.
  • Products/industries of the area: The main population centre (Bendigo) is now the administrative, commercial and educational centre for North Central and Northern Victoria. The rural area of the division supports a diverse range of farming, agricultural and viticultural activities along with continuing gold mining and other extractive industries.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1901
  • Demographic rating Provincial