Weather: Sydney 12°C - 19°C . Wind easing. Mostly clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Blair
  • State: Queensland
  • Name derivation: Named after Harold Blair AO 1924-76. A noted Australian tenor and Aboriginal activist.
  • Size & Location description: Blair covers an area of approximately 6,409 sq km west of Brisbane. Containing most of the City of Ipswich and all of the Somerset Regional Council. The division stretches from Riverview and Redbank Plains in the east to the boundary of the Ipswich City Council in the south and west, and the boundary of the Somerset Regional Council to the north. Main towns include Kilcoy, Toogoolawah, Esk, Cominya, Lowood, Fernvale, Ipswich, Minden, Marburg, Rosewood, and Walloon.
  • Products/industries of the area: Dairy and beef cattle farming, small crop production, commercial, construction and infrastructure industries, tourism and defence.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1997/1998
  • Demographic rating Provincial