Weather: Sydney 13°C - 20°C . Mostly sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Brisbane
  • State: Queensland
  • Name derivation: Named after the city of Brisbane which was named after Sir Thomas MacDougall Brisbane (1773-1860), Governor of New South Wales 1820-25.
  • Size & Location description: Brisbane covers an area of approximately 58 sq km from Everton Park and Stafford in the north to the Brisbane River in the west and south and to Hamilton and Hendra in the east. The main suburbs include Albion, Alderley, Ascot, Bowen Hills, Brisbane City, Clayfield, Fortitude Valley, Gaythorne, Gordon Park, Grange, Hamilton, Hendra, Herston, Kalinga, Kelvin Grove, Lutwyche, Milton, New Farm, Newmarket, Newstead, Red Hill, Spring Hill, Wilston, Windsor, Wooloowin and parts of Ashgrove, Bardon, Everton Park, Enoggera, Paddington and Stafford.
  • Products/industries of the area: The area is mostly residential but contains some light industry. It includes the Queensland Parliament House and Brisbane City Council Chambers. Many Commonwealth Government, State Government and business administrative offices are found in the area.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan