Weather: Sydney 13°C - 20°C . Mostly sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Cowan
  • State: Western Australia
  • Name derivation: Named after Edith Cowan 1861-1932, the first female member of an Australian parliament, being elected to the Western Australia Legislative Assembly as the Member for West Perth 1921-24.
  • Size & Location description: Cowan covers an area of approximately 180 sq km from Banksia Grove in the north to Malaga in the south. The division covers parts of three Local Government areas - the City of Joondalup, the City of Wanneroo and the City of Swan. It includes the suburbs of Alexander Heights, Ashby, Ballajura, Banksia Grove (part), Cullacabardee, Darch, Girrawheen, Gnangara, Greenwood, Hocking, Jandabup, Kingsley, Koondoola, Landsdale, Madeley, Malaga, Marangaroo, Mariginiup (part), Pearsall, Sinagra, Tapping, Wangara, Wanneroo, Warwick and Woodvale.
  • Products/industries of the area: Mainly retail and service industries, with some light industry, market gardens and vineyards.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1984
  • Demographic rating Outer Metropolitan