Weather: Sydney 11°C - 22°C . Partly cloudy.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Cowper
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir Charles Cowper (1807-75), Premier of New South Wales 25 August-2 October 1856.
  • Size & Location description: Cowper covers an area of approximately 7,861 sq km from Kempsey in the south to Maclean in the north. The main towns include Bellingen, Bowraville, Coffs Harbour, Dorrigo, Kempsey, Maclean, Macksville, Nambucca Heads, Sawtell, South West Rocks, Urunga and Woolgoolga.
  • Products/industries of the area: Fishing, forestry, agriculture, bananas, dairy cattle and tourism.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Rural