Weather: Sydney 13°C - 20°C . Mostly clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Fadden
  • State: Queensland
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir Arthur Fadden (1895-1973), Prime Minister of Australia August-October 1941.
  • Size & Location description: Fadden covers approximately 395 sq km bounded by the Logan and Albert Rivers in the north, the Pacific Motorway to Coomera and suburbs from Oxenford to Gaven in the west, Molendinar and Labrador in the south, and the Pacific shore from the Gold Coast Seaway to Jumpinpin Inlet in the east. Suburbs and towns include Alberton, Arundel, Biggera Waters, Coombabah, Coomera, Gaven, Gilberton, Helensvale, Hollywell, Hope Island, Jacobs Well, Labrador, Molendinar, Norwell, Paradise Point, Parkwood, Runaway Bay, Stapylton, Steiglitz, Woongoolba and parts of Ormeau, Oxenford, Pacific Pines, Pimpama and Southport. South Stradbroke Island and other islands in the Broadwater and South Moreton Bay are within the Division.
  • Products/industries of the area: Residential areas are concentrated in the south with semi-rural in the north. Commercial activities include tourism, market gardens, sugar cane farming, and light industry including boat building.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1977
  • Demographic rating Outer Metropolitan