Weather: Sydney 12°C - 19°C . Wind easing. Mostly clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Flinders
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after Matthew Flinders 1774-1814, well-known navigator and explorer. The adoption of the name Australia is due to him.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Flinders is located south-east of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 1 952 sq km from Portsea in the south-west to Mt Martha, Baxter, Cranbourne South, Koo Wee Rup and Lang Lang along the northern sector to San Remo and Dalyston in the south-east. The division surrounds and encompasses Western Port Bay including French Island and Phillip Island. The main towns include Baxter (part), Cowes, Rye, Dalyston (Part), Dromana, Hastings, Koo Wee Rup, Nyora, Rosebud and San Remo.
  • Products/industries of the area: Steel-rolling mill, dairy farms, fishing, poultry, wineries, orchards, light industries and tourist industries.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Rural