Weather: Sydney 14°C - 19°C . Rain.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Flynn
  • State: Queensland
  • Name derivation: Named after Reverend John Flynn (1880-1951), founder of the Royal Flying Doctor Service.
  • Size & Location description: Flynn covers an area of approximately 133,063 sq km including the City of Gladstone, the Regional Councils of Bundaberg (Partial), Central Highlands, Gladstone, North Burnett, South Burnett (Partial), Banana Shire and Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council. Main towns include Agnes Water, Banana, Biloela, Biggenden, Blackwater, Boyne Island, Calliope, Duaringa, Eidsvold, Emerald, Gayndah, Gladstone, Gracemere, Miriam Vale, Monto, Mount Morgan, Moura, Mundubbera, Perry, Sapphire, Tannum Sands, Taroom, Theodore, Wondai and Woorabinda.
  • Products/industries of the area: Primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards,cotton, grain and cattle. The Port of Gladstone is a major export facility for the area.
  • First proclaimed/election: 2006/2007
  • Demographic rating Rural