Weather: Sydney 11°C - 22°C . Partly cloudy.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Forrest
  • State: Western Australia
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir John (later Lord) Forrest 1847-1918, the first Premier of Western Australia 1890-1901.
  • Size & Location description: Forrest covers an area of approximately 12 781 sq km encompassing the south west corner of Western Australia from the Shire of Harvey and Collie in the north to the Shires of Augusta-Margaret River and Nannup in the south. The main towns include Augusta, Australind, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Collie, Donnybrook, Dunsborough, Eaton, Harvey, Margaret River, Nannup and Yallingup.
  • Products/industries of the area: Agriculture (beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fruit and vegetables, wine, flowers), forestry, mining (coal and mineral sands), fisheries, manufacturing, commerce and tourism.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1922
  • Demographic rating Rural