Weather: Sydney 12°C - 27°C . Sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Fremantle
  • State: Western Australia
  • Name derivation: Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800-69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.
  • Size & Location description: Fremantle covers an area of approximately 199 sq km from the Swan River in the north to Jandakot Airport in the east and Wattleup in the south. It also includes Rottnest Island. The main suburbs include Atwell, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Bicton, Coogee, Coolbellup, East Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hilton, Jandakot, North Fremantle, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley, Willagee, Yangebup, and the City of Fremantle.
  • Products/industries of the area: Small goods factories, ship building, market gardens, brewing, hospitality, tourism and fishing.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan