Weather: Sydney 12°C - 22°C . Partly cloudy.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Gippsland
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after the area which was explored by Angus McMillan in 1839. It was named after Governor Sir George Gipps.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Gippsland is located in eastern Victoria. It covers an area of approximately 33 054 sq km from the New South Wales border in the north-east to Port Albert in the south-west. The main towns include Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Orbost, Rosedale, Sale, Stratford, Traralgon and Yarram.
  • Products/industries of the area: Beef, dairy, sheep and vegetable farming, cropping, sawmilling and forestry, fishing, tourism, the production of oil, gas and electricity, and correctional and defence services, including the RAAF Base at East Sale.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1901
  • Demographic rating Rural