Weather: Sydney 12°C - 27°C . Sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Gorton
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after former Prime Minister Sir John Gorton, who served as Prime Minister between 1968-71.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Gorton is located west of Melbourne. It covers an area of approximately 562 sq km and includes the suburbs of Albanvale, Brookfield, Burnside, Cairnlea, Caroline Springs, Deer Park, Delahey, Derrimut, Diggers Rest (part), Exford, Eyensbury (part), Hillside, Kings Park, Kurunjang, Melton, Melton West, Melton South, Mount Cottrell, Plumpton, Rockbank, Taylors Hill, Truganina (part) and Toolern Vale.
  • Products/industries of the area: Home to the harness racing industry, and supports many horse training and breeding facilities.
  • First proclaimed/election: 2003/2004
  • Demographic rating Outer Metropolitan