Weather: Sydney 11°C - 22°C . Mostly sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Grey
  • State: South Australia
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir George Grey 1812-98, Governor of South Australia from 1841-45.
  • Size & Location description: Grey covers an area of approximately 904 881 sq km from the Western Australian, Northern Territory, Queensland and New South Wales borders to Marion Bay on the Yorke Peninsula and Eudunda in the south. The main towns include Ceduna, Port Lincoln, Whyalla, Port Augusta, Roxby Downs, Coober Pedy, Port Pirie, Kadina, Maitland, Orroroo, Peterborough, Burra and Eudunda.
  • Products/industries of the area: Lead smelting, steel industry, tourism, fishing, oil, gas, opals, jade, iron ore, uranium, wheat, cattle, wool, forestry, salt and slate.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1903
  • Demographic rating Rural