Weather: Sydney 14°C - 19°C . Rain.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Higgins
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after Henry Higgins 1851-1929, Member of the House of Representatives 1901-06, Justice of the High Court 1906-29 and President of the new Commonwealth Conciliation and Arbitration Court 1907-21.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Higgins is located in Melbourne's south-eastern suburbs. It covers an area of approximately 40 sq km from Hughesdale in the south-east, South Yarra and Toorak in the north-west, Windsor in the south-west and Ashburton and Glen Iris in the east. The main suburbs include Armadale, Ashburton, Kooyong, Malvern, Malvern East, Prahran and Toorak along with parts of Carnegie, Glen Iris, Hughesdale, Murrumbeena, South Yarra and Windsor.
  • Products/industries of the area: The division is mainly residential, with retail and commercial interests in a number of suburbs.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1948/1949
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan