Weather: Sydney 18°C - 21°C . Showers clearing. Windy.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Mallee
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after the area in which it is located. Mallee is an Aboriginal word for dwarf eucalypts which grow in the area.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Mallee is located in north-western Victoria. It covers an area of approximately 73 879 sq km and is bordered by the Murray River in the north, the South Australian border in the west, the division of Wannon in the south and the division of Murray in the east. The main centres are Mildura in the north, Warracknabeal, St Arnaud, Horsham and Stawell in the south and Swan Hill and Kerang in the east.
  • Products/industries of the area: Dried fruit, citrus, stone fruit, wheat and cereals, wool, sheep, vegetables, vineyards, olive oil, dairying, beef cattle, pig raising, meat works, gold mining and flour milling.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1948/1949
  • Demographic rating Rural