Weather: Sydney 18°C - 21°C . Rain easing. Becoming windy.

Division Profile

  • Division name: McEwen
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir John McEwen 1900-80, who served as caretaker Prime Minister of Australia for three weeks 1967-68.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of McEwen is located north of Melbourne in central Victoria. It covers an area of 4 592 sq km from Seymour in the north to Sunbury and Bulla in the south-west to Craigieburn in the south and from Lancefield in the west to Reedy Creek in the east. The main towns and localities include Broadford, Craigieburn, Doreen, Kilmore, Lancefield, New Gisborne, Riddells Creek, Romsey, Seymour, Sunbury, Wallan and Whittlesea.
  • Products/industries of the area: Cattle grazing, wool growing, forestry, market gardening, wines, sawmills, dairying, various small businesses and tourism.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1984
  • Demographic rating Rural