Weather: Sydney 13°C - 20°C . Mostly clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Melbourne
  • State: Victoria
  • Name derivation: Named after the city of Melbourne which was named in 1837 by Governor Bourke after Lord Melbourne, who was then Prime Minister of Britain.
  • Size & Location description: The Division of Melbourne covers an area of approximately 53 sq km from Merri Creek and the Yarra River in the east to the Maribyrnong River in the west and from Ascot Vale/Brunswick in the north to the Yarra River in the south. The division includes the central business district of the City of Melbourne and the suburbs of Abbotsford, Ascot Vale, Carlton, Carlton North, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, East Melbourne, Fitzroy, Fitzroy North (part), Flemington, Kensington, North Melbourne, Parkville, Richmond and West Melbourne. Alphington and Fairfield are shared with the division of Batman, Brunswick, and Brunswick East are shared with the division of Wills and Docklands is shared with the division of Melbourne Ports.
  • Products/industries of the area: Heavy and light engineering, extensive manufacturing, commercial and retail activities (including Melbourne markets and central business district), dockyards, clothing and footwear industries, warehousing and distributing of white goods, building and other general goods.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan