Weather: Sydney 12°C - 19°C . Possible shower.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Moreton
  • State: Queensland
  • Name derivation: Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.
  • Size & Location description: Moreton covers an area of approximately 111 sq km from Fairfield in the north, Chelmer, Corinda and Oxley in the west, Eight Mile Plains and Kuraby in the east to Sunnyank Hills in the South. The main suburbs include Acacia Ridge, Archerfield, Chelmer, Coopers Plains, Corinda, Fairfield, Graceville, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Oxley, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sherwood, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tennyson, Willawong, Yeerongpilly and Yeronga and parts of Algester, Annerley, Eight Mile Plains and Tarragindi.
  • Products/industries of the area: The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities. A light aircraft airport is in Archerfield.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan