Weather: Sydney 11°C - 22°C . Mostly clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Newcastle
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.
  • Size & Location description: Newcastle covers an area of approximately 354 sq km from Williamtown, Heatherbrae and Thornton in the north, Lenaghan in the west to Kotara and Adamstown Heights in the south. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Birmingham Gardens, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton, Heatherbrae, Islington, Mayfield, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Waratah, Wickham, Williamtown and parts of Adamstown Heights, Lambton, Jesmond, Kotara, Salt Ash, Thornton and Wallsend.
  • Products/industries of the area: Ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Provincial