Weather: Sydney 12°C - 22°C . Clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Parkes
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after Sir Henry Parkes (1815-96), former Premier of New South Wales and known as the 'Father of Federation'.
  • Size & Location description: Parkes covers an area of approximately 256,643 sq km from the Queensland border in the North to Ilford, Tomingley and Lake Cargelligo in the South; from Bingara, Boggabri and Coolah in the East to Dubbo, Wanaaring and Cobar in the West. The main towns include Bingara, Bourke, Brewarrina, Cobar, Condobolin, Coonabarabran, Coonamble, Dubbo, Gilgandra, Gulgong, Lake Cargelligo, Lightning Ridge, Moree, Mudgee, Mungindi, Narrabri, Narromine, Nyngan, Walgett, Warialda, Warren and Wellington.
  • Products/industries of the area: Wool, beef, pork, wheat, cotton, oil seed crops, lucerne, fruit, vegetables, dairy cattle, horse, sheep and cattle studs, comprehensive agricultural support services, coal and opal mining, timber, wine growing, light engineering and construction industries
  • First proclaimed/election: 1984 (There was previously a division with the name of Parkes which existed in the Sydney metropolitan area up until 1967.)
  • Demographic rating Rural