Weather: Sydney 15°C - 26°C . Shower or two.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Parramatta
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after the locality of Parramatta which was first settled in 1788. The name is Aboriginal for 'plenty of eels' or 'head of river'.
  • Size & Location description: Parramatta covers an area of approximately 56 sq km from Carlingford and Dundas in the east to Old Toongabbie and South Wentworthville in the west. The main suburbs include Constitution Hill, Dundas Valley, Granville, Harris Park, Holroyd, Mays Hill, North Parramatta, Oatlands, Old Toongabbie, Parramatta, Rosehill, Rydalmere, Telopea, Wentworthville, Westmead and parts of Dundas, Ermington, Guildford, Merrylands, Merrylands West, Northmead, North Rocks, Pendle Hill, South Granville and South Wentworthville.
  • Products/industries of the area: Retail, financial services, transport industry, building materials, major industry and tourism.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan