Weather: Sydney 13°C - 20°C . Mostly sunny.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Riverina
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after the area in which it is located.
  • Size & Location description: Riverina covers an area of approximately 61,435 sq km. The division is located in the south of NSW and extends from Adjungbilly, Yarrangobilly and Cabramurra in the east to Carrathool and Gunbar in the west and from Hillston, Naradhan and Ungarie in the north to Coleambally, Corobimilla, Khancoban and Uranquinty in the south. The rural cities of Wagga Wagga and Griffith are the largest centres. Towns include Coleambally, Coolamon, Gundagai, Hillston, Junee, Leeton, Narrandera, Temora, Tumut, Tumbarumba and West Wyalong.
  • Products/industries of the area: Wheat, barley, canola, rice and cereal crops. Fat lambs, wool, poultry, dairying, cattle, ostrich, emu, deer, and goat farming. Food processing, fruit, grapes and wine making. Flour-milling, concrete pipes, steel construction, saw milling, joinery, plaster works and tourism.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1901 (From 1984 to 1991 the division was known as Riverina-Darling.)
  • Demographic rating Rural