Weather: Sydney 14°C - 19°C . Shower or two.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Watson
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after John Watson (1867-1941), Prime Minister of Australia 27 April-12 August 1904.
  • Size & Location description: Watson covers an area of approximately 42 sq km from Strathfield in the north to Roselands in the south, Canterbury in the east and Mount Lewis in the west. The main suburbs include Belfield, Belmore, Burwood Heights, Campsie, Chullora, Clemton Park, Enfield, Greenacre, Lakemba, Mount Lewis, Roselands, Strathfield South, Wiley Park and parts of Ashbury, Bankstown, Beverly Hills, Burwood, Canterbury, Croydon, Croydon Park, Earlwood, Kingsgrove, Narwee, Punchbowl, Riverwood and Strathfield.
  • Products/industries of the area: Light manufacturing and service industries.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1992/1993 (Watson became a division in 1992 but was previously known as St George which became a division in 1948.)
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan