Weather: Sydney 12°C - 22°C . Clear.

Division Profile

  • Division name: Wentworth
  • State: New South Wales
  • Name derivation: Named after William Charles Wentworth (1790-1872), a noted Australian explorer and statesman. He accompanied Blaxland and Lawson on their crossing of the Blue Mountains.
  • Size & Location description: Wentworth covers an area of approximately 30 sq km from Woolloomooloo Bay along the southern shore of Sydney Harbour to Watson's Bay and down the coast to Clovelly. The western boundary runs along South Dowling Street, Flinders Street, Oxford Street, Riley Street, Boomerang Place, Haig Lane, Sir John Young Crescent, Lincoln Crescent and Woolloomooloo Bay. The main suburbs include Bellevue Hill, Bondi, Bondi Beach, Bondi Junction, Bronte, Centennial Park, Darling Point, Dover Heights, Double Bay, Edgecliff, Elizabeth Bay, North Bondi, Paddington, Point Piper, Queens Park, Rose Bay, Rushcutters Bay, Tamarama, Vaucluse, Watson's Bay, Waverley, Woollahra and parts of Clovelly, Darlinghurst, Moore Park, Randwick and Woolloomooloo. In terms of area, the division of Wentworth is the smallest division in Australia.
  • Products/industries of the area: Finance, property, service, wholesale and retail trade, tourism, education, sport and recreation.
  • First proclaimed/election: 1900/1901
  • Demographic rating Inner Metropolitan